The Burkhalter Award

The Burkhalter Award is presented at I-Day to a person who has made significant contributions to the community and the Iowa insurance industry. The Burkhalter Award is designed to recognize individuals who have influenced the Iowa property and casualty insurance industry and their community through civic involvement.

The Burkhalter Award is named after Major General Louis D. Burkhalter, Jr. who was the first individual in Iowa to attain the CPCU designation; a charter member of the Iowa Chapter of CPCU; the first president of the Iowa Chapter and an inductee of the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame.

Mr. Burkhalter had a long and distinguished career in the insurance industry, military and through his civic activities. Major General Burkhalter died July 19, 2007 at the age of 98.
Nominees for this award will be evaluated based upon the following categories:

  • Continuing education promoting insurance within the business community through civic & non civic activities.
  • Achievements beyond primary professional responsibilities, e.g. voluntary work within the industry.
  • Research efforts and innovation within the industry.
  • Specific achievements which benefit the industry or the insuring public.
  • Legislative activities leadership.


The Iowa Chapter is seeking qualified recipients for its prestigious Burkhalter Award. If you know someone or organization who has made an outstanding contribution to our profession, we urge you to let us know. To nominate an individual for the Burkhalter Award, complete a nomination form by clicking here.