Continue reading " />

Ted Lussem Receives the 2011 Burkhalter Award

by Robert Conroy, CPCU, CIC on November 18, 2011

Ted Lussem (l) and 2011 Iowa Chapter President, Richard Keith (r)

The Burkhalter Award is presented at I-Day to a person who has made significant contributions to the community and the Iowa insurance industry.  The Burkhalter Award  is designed to recognize individuals who have influenced the Iowa property and casualty insurance industry and their community through civic involvement.

The 2011 recipient is Theodore "Ted' Lussem, CPCU, AIM, AU, AAI, AIC, ALCM, APA, ARM, ARP, AIAF, AMIM, AAM, ARe, AIS, API, AFSB, ASLI, CPIM.  Ted is known as Mr. CPCU in Iowa and beyond.  He was president of the Iowa chapter in 1979-1980.  Over the years he has organized and facilitated numerous programs from the American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters. Ted is responsible for many insurance professionals' career success.

Ted Lussem, CPCU

Ted was inducted into the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame in 2000.   At the 2009 CPCU Society Annual Meeting and Seminars in Denver Ted was presented with the prestigious "Celebrating CPCU Excellence" award for his outstanding contributions to the Iowa Chapter and the CPCU Society.  Marvin Kelly, Past President of the CPCU Society, presented the award to Ted in Denver and called him the "Rock of Gibraltar of the Iowa Chapter."  Marvin also thanked Ted for his devotion to the  industry, noting that "over the decades, Ted has taught, mentored, and inspired countless insurance professionals in Des Moines."


Previous post:

Next post: